Saturday, July 4, 2020


The function of music is to release us from the tyranny of conscious thought.

-- Sir Thomas Beecham

Saturday, June 27, 2020


Every heart sings a song incomplete, until another heart whispers back.  Those who wish to sing always find a song.

-- Plato

Saturday, June 20, 2020


When I am silent, I fall into the place where everything is music.

-- Rumi

Saturday, June 13, 2020


The Earth has music for those who listen.

-- George Santayana

Saturday, June 6, 2020



Music in the Soul can be heard by the Universe.

-- Lao Tzu

Saturday, May 30, 2020


God sends each person into this world with a special message to deliver, with a special song to sing, with a special act of love to bestow.

-- John Powell

Saturday, May 23, 2020


The art of life is to make another Soul vibrate with a song of Joy.

-- Edwin Leibfreed

Saturday, May 16, 2020


Music is the vernacular of the human Soul.

-- Geoffrey Latham

Saturday, May 9, 2020


Music without words means leaving behind the mind.  And leaving behind music is meditation.  And the source of all is sound.

-- Kabir

Saturday, May 2, 2020


And your body is the harp of your Soul, and it is yours to bring forth sweet music from it, or confused sounds.

-- Kahlil Gibran

Saturday, April 25, 2020


Music is well said to be the speech of Angels, in fact, nothing among the utterances allowed to man is felt to be so Divine.  It brings us near to the infinite.

-- Thomas Carlyle

Saturday, April 18, 2020


Art and music are two of the most powerful healing forces in the Universe.

-- Rosanne Cash

Saturday, April 11, 2020


Music can change the world because it can change people.

-- Bono

Saturday, April 4, 2020


Of all the music that reached farthest into Heaven, it is the beating of a loving heart.

-- Henry Ward Beecher

Saturday, March 28, 2020


Music is a therapy; it is good for those who write it, those who study it, those who direct it, those who perform it, and finally those who listen to it.  If everyone sang in a choir or played in an orchestra, perhaps the world would be a more enjoyable and harmonious place to live in.

-- Ivo Antognini

Saturday, March 21, 2020


I am conviced that by listening to music we can reach a level of feeling where the spirit rises as in no other circumstance.

-- Ivo Antognini

Saturday, March 14, 2020


We must be able to show that MUSIC, the divine art, is more than the mere search of formal perfection and interpretative beauty, music should serve to extol the values of solidarity, peace, and understanding.  We cannot work isolated, we have to make all possible efforts to have our voices heard and to let music work its own paths of communication.

-- opening statement of World Choral Day, 1990

Saturday, March 7, 2020


It is time to show, with more power and strength, that our choral family contributes, through music, to break down the artificial barriers product of politics, different ideologies, religious differences, and racial hatred that separate human beings.

-- opening statement from World Choral Day, 1990

Saturday, February 29, 2020


Music is the divine way to tell beautiful, poetic things to the heart . . .

-- Pablo Casals

Saturday, February 22, 2020


Music can change the world because it can change people.

-- Bono

Saturday, February 15, 2020


If it weren't for music, I would think that love is mortal.

-- Mark Helprin

Saturday, February 8, 2020


Music is an agreeable harmony for the honor of God and the permissible delights of the soul.

-- Johann Sebastian Bach

Saturday, February 1, 2020


Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.

-- Maria von Trapp

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Beethoven tells you what it's like to be Beethoven and Mozart tells you what it's like to be human.  Bach tells you what it's like to be the universe.

-- Douglas Adams

Saturday, January 18, 2020


Music is the great uniter.  An incredible force.  Something that people who differ on everything and anything else can have in common.

-- Sarah Dessen

Saturday, January 11, 2020


Music . . . will help dissolve your perplexities and purify your character and sensibilities, and in time of care and sorrow, will keep a fountain of joy alive in you.

-- Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Saturday, January 4, 2020


The way that the world is going, we're going to need more musicians.  Music and the arts are the most healing things in the world.

-- Dan DeLuca