Saturday, June 15, 2024

 

Music is the wine which inspires one to new generative processes, and I am Bacchus who presses out this glorious wine for mankind and makes them spiritually drunken.

-- Ludwig van Beethoven


Saturday, June 8, 2024

 

There is no complete spiritual life without music, for the human soul has regions which can be illuminated only by music.

-- Zoltan Kodaly


Saturday, June 1, 2024

 

My music is the spiritual expression of what I am -- my faith, my knowledge, my being . . . When you begin to see the possibilities of music, you desire to do something really good for people, to help humanity free itself from its hangups . . . I want to speak to their souls.

-- John Coltrane


Saturday, May 25, 2024

 

Music . . . began with man, primitive man, trying to duplicate Nature's sounds -- winds, birds, animals, water, the crescendo of fire -- after which great systems of learning were set up, only to discover that music is limitless.

-- Duke Ellington

Saturday, May 18, 2024

 

You must always believe that life is as extraordinary as music says it is.

-- Rebecca West

Saturday, May 11, 2024

 

Music is the only religion that really delivers the goods.

-- Frank Zappa

Saturday, May 4, 2024

 

Perhaps all music, even the newest, is not so much something discovered as something that reemerges from where it lay buried in the memory, inaudible as a melody cut in a disc of flesh.  A composer lets me hear a song that has always been shut up silent within me. 

-- Jean Genet

Saturday, April 27, 2024

 

People say that the soul, on hearing the song of creation, entered the body, but in reality the soul itself was the song.

-- Hafiz


Saturday, April 20, 2024


The prime objective of all Initiatory music in the Temples of Antiquity was to bring about physical purification and renewal, mental stimulation and alertness, spiritual exhilaration and Illumination.

-- St. Ambrose 


Saturday, April 13, 2024

 

Music can minister to minds diseased, pluck from the memory a rooted sorrow, raze out the written troubles of the brain, and with its sweet oblivious antidote, cleanse the full bosom of all perilous stuff that weighs upon the heart.

-- William Shakespeare


Saturday, April 6, 2024

 

Music is the art of the prophets, the only art that can calm the agitations of the soul.

-- Martin Luther


Saturday, March 30, 2024

 

Man's music is seen as a means of restoring the soul, as well as confused and discordant bodily afflictions, to the harmonic proportions that it shares with the world soul of the cosmos.

-- Plato


Saturday, March 23, 2024

 

By harmony all phenomena are formed and sustained.  There is a scientific statement to the effect that this earth is a vast harmonic wave system that is built and sustained by unheard music.

-- Corinne Heline


Saturday, March 16, 2024

 

Life is a song.  It has its own rhythm of harmony.  It is a symphony of all things which exist in major and minor keys of Polarity.  It blends the discords, by opposites, into harmony which unites the whole into a grand symphony of life.  To learn through experience in this life, to appreciate the symphony and lessons of life and to blend with the whole, is the object of our being here.

-- Dr. Randolph Stone


Saturday, March 9, 2024


Do you know that our soul is composed of harmony.

-- Leonardo da Vinci


Saturday, March 2, 2024

 

The knower of the mystery of sound knows the mystery of the whole universe.

-- Hazrat Inayat Khan


Saturday, February 24, 2024

 

Music has healing power.  It has the ability to take people out of themselves for a few hours.

-- Elton John


Saturday, February 17, 2024

 

Music is a weapon in the war against unhappiness.

-- Jason Mraz


Saturday, February 10, 2024

 

If there is one thing that is constant in this world, it is the power of music.

-- Josh Groban


Saturday, February 3, 2024

 

The power of music to integrate and cure . . . is quite fundamental.  It is the profoundest nonchemical medication.

-- Oliver Sacks


Saturday, January 27, 2024

 

Music expresses feeling and thought, without language, it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words.

-- Robert Green Ingersoll


Saturday, January 20, 2024

 

I think music in itself is healing.  It's an explosive expression of humanity.

-- Billy Joel


Saturday, January 13, 2024

 

Music gives color to the air of the moment.

-- Karl Lagerfeld


Saturday, January 6, 2024

 

The object of all music should be the glory of God and pleasant recreation.

-- Johann Sebastian Bach