Saturday, May 21, 2022

 Music acts like a magic key, to which the most tightly closed heart opens.

-- Maria von Trapp


Saturday, May 14, 2022

 Music is the great uniter.  An incredible force.  Something that people who differ on everything and anything else can have in common.

-- Sarah Dessen


Saturday, May 7, 2022

 Music is an agreeable harmony for the honor of God and the permissible delights of the soul.

-- Johann Sebastian Bach


Saturday, April 30, 2022

 There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.

-- Albert Schweitzer


Saturday, April 23, 2022

 Some days there won't be a song in your heart.  Sing anyway.

-- Emory Austin


Saturday, April 16, 2022

 The easiest way to avoid wrong notes is to never open your mouth and sing.  What a mistake that would be.

-- Pete Seeger


Saturday, April 9, 2022

 Wake up, live your life and sing the melody of your soul.

-- Amit Ray


Saturday, April 2, 2022

 Music is the tool to express life -- and all that makes a difference.

-- Herbie Hancock


Saturday, March 26, 2022

 How is it that music can, without words, evoke our laughter, our fears, our highest aspirations?

-- Jane Swan


Saturday, March 19, 2022

 Music expresses feeling and thought, without language; it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words.

-- Robert G. Ingersoll


Saturday, March 12, 2022

 Music brings a warm glow to my vision, thawing mind and muscle from their endless wintering.

-- Haruki Murakami


Saturday, March 5, 2022

 Music is the divine way to tell beautiful, poetic things to the heart.

-- Pablo Casals


Saturday, February 26, 2022

 There is music in the air, music all around us; the world is full of it, and you simply take as much as you require.

-- Edward Elgar


Saturday, February 19, 2022

 To send light into the darkness of men's hearts -- such is the duty of the artist.

-- Robert Schumann


Saturday, February 12, 2022

 

You have to take a deep breath and allow the music to flow through you.  Revel in it, allow yourself to awe.  When you play allow the music to break your heart with its beauty.

-- Kelly White


Saturday, February 5, 2022

 

Music -- what a powerful instrument, what a mighty weapon!

-- Maria August von Trapp

Saturday, January 29, 2022

 

Life seems to go on without effort when I am filled with music. 

-- George Eliot


Saturday, January 22, 2022

 Listen to the story told by the reed, 
of being separated.

"Since I was cut from the reedbed, 
I have made this crying sound.

Anyone apart from someone he loves 
understands what I say.
Anyone pulled from a source 
longs to go back.

-- Rumi

Saturday, January 15, 2022

 Music is the ultimate peaceful harmony.  Proper behavior is the ultimate way to act.  If you have internal harmony with proper outer behavior, then people will be glad to see you, and there will be no conflicts.

-- Confucian Book of Rites

Saturday, January 8, 2022

 

If you would be a cultivated person, you should always behave properly and have music.  Music will make your heart peaceful.  Your heart will be easy, straight, loving, and forgiving, and your life will be rich.  That will bring joy, and joy will bring serenity.

-- Confucian Book of Rites

Saturday, January 1, 2022

Music speaks from spirit to spirit and in that sense you could call it a true spiritual language.

-- John McLaughlin